Preface: From my house to yours, have a blessed Thanksgiving with family and friends as you give thanks to the Father for His love and His care.

They arrived this morning
Quarter of ten
In spectacular grace
Hundreds of them.

Quietly they assembled
Staking out space
Where they pecked for seeds
And ground them in place.

The size of these gobblers
Promised a long day ahead
If they satisfied their hunger
And got back to bed.

Cautious they were
And filled with dread
For they’d heard of guns
That could take off your head.

So they gobbled and ‘chewed’
As they bobbed their wee heads
With an occasional ‘gobble’
To scare off their dread.

But sharply at two
They disappeared like ghosts
As if floating ‘ore hills to
Avoid their host.

Quietly they vanished
In ignorance they fled
Not realizing their caution
Left a finely marked tread

For anyone to follow
Who’d care to so do
In case they were craving
A turkey or two!!

 

DSCN0181 (2).JPG

 

 

7 thoughts on “The Turkey Trot

    1. A very belated thank you! I haven’t been able to keep up with Word Press or much of anything for some time. I miss you all and hope to be able to get back one day soon. Several health problems but I won’t bore you with the details except for the latest diagnosis of 91% pulmonary hyper-tension which precipitated the cancellation of surgery the day before I was scheduled to have it. They assurred me I would not have survived so I am thankful right now just to be here. I read only yesterday that you are doing some publishing. Congratulations! You just can’t keep a talented man down! I have two books that are published but haven’t received very much publicity. They are spiritual in nature and I’ve received lots of encouragement, one from Litfire Publishers in Indiana who wanted to represent me at a big book event in Chicago in May. I had to decline although it really broke my heart. Let me know if you would have any interest in representing these two books and what it would involve.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Thanks for the link, I may have to miss the bargain price as I no longer have the seller’s page for And There Was War in Heaven and never had one for the new book From Faith to Faith, As We Live in the Spirit. I’m seriously considering your offer and will be in touch again.

        Like

Leave a Reply

