An Experiment in Style

Regardless of the fact that folklore tells us ‘curiosity killed the cat’ I am a curious person, and can never resist a new challenge. I saw instructions for writing a Welsh style poem called a GWAWDODYN, and I couldn’t resist. It isn’t all that different actually following a 9-9-10-9 syllable lines with that extra syllable in line 3, but not at the end, but in the middle, a little to either the right or the left. This is my one and only so far, and I liked it so much I wanted to share it with you. Here it is.

Memories
Fond memories swirl about my heart
Whispering how long we’ve been apart
Yet ‘if only’ failed to restart sweet grace
Nor allow a glimpse of your dear face.

6 thoughts on “An Experiment in Style”

  1. Aww… I love this, Marie. Such a sweet poem about your husband… I know you’ll see him someday.

    I also like how you’re experimenting in style! All of my poems sound the same. 😛

    Like

    1. Jessica! How nice to hear from you! Thank you for the likes and I appreciate your comment about the Welsh experiment. I’m not sure I got the last line correct as I think the last rhyme should have fit with line one and two, but after it turned out the way it did I couldn’t change it. Anyway it is good to hear from you.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I know. I’ve been pretty hit and miss with blogging lately. Yours isn’t the only blog I haven’t kept up with recently. My own is sorely lacking! But whether the lines fit perfectly or not, they were most certainly touching. I understand longing. Can’t wait for Christ to come soon so you can be reunited with your husband.

        Like

      2. Thanks again Jessica. I wish that for all of us, but we know that He knows what is best. In my new book (it is just now published) I mention the possibility that this war we are engaged in with Satan may not be over until everyone who wants salvation has it. This evolved from thinking about the purpose for the whole thing which is that He wants reconciliation with all who who desire it. This book is about love, Spiritual love, and how it is acquired. I call it From Faith to Faith, (meaning from accepting Him to living for Him) and the sub-title is As We Live in the Spirit, (which of course is the only way it can be done.) This allows Him to see us in the humility and love we have for Him instead of the sinful people we really are. My next project is getting my poems ready for publication. I have no idea how long that will take, but there is a lot of things to go through and a lot of decisions that must be made. Wish me luck!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

