My Going Home Song

I know that people have different understandings regarding death and dying. For me it represents a joyous occasion, a time of celebration, an opportunity to praise the Father for salvation, and the happiness that accompanies this final passage into the realm of eternity. There is of course room for grieving for those whose time has not yet come as well as a different approach to the service entirely when it seems necessary or as desired. Having experienced such a joyous occasion, I am convinced that it smooths the path that follows the ‘going away celebration’ making it infinitely easier on those who remain until God calls them home as they work through their own grieving. This poem that is a song for my own passage. I hope you will understand it as such and will be comforted in the knowledge that God assures us that we can know that salvation is ours. I call it The Amen Chorus.

The Amen Chorus

Amen, amen,

I’m going home to God

I leave my prayers behind

To surround you with my love

Amen, amen

My arms are open wide

There’s nothing quite as sweet

As faithful loving friends

To meet in early dawn

Amen, amen

I’m waiting there for you

With expectations that we’ll meet.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

