The Wind of God

Spring Wind

I walk with the wind
In her many moods
And feel your presence there.
I lift up my eyes
And behold her at play
Among the clouds so fair.
And I wonder then,
For she never stays,
Where does she go from here?
As she takes her leave
How I wish I could see
Your treasuries old somewhere.
Does she sleep while there
Or contemplate
The path of her next foray?
And when she slips out
Does her swishing about
Wake all the angels to play?
I wish I could see
The wings of the wind
As you ride through the blue,
But for now I’ll continue
To walk with the wind
In all her many moods.

Marie Hunter Atwood
2006 (edited 2007)

In the early 1960’s I read a book that made reference to the “Wind of God”. The phrase captured my imagination and I determined to write about it. In the process it seemed to take on a playful persona. Two scriptures fed my thoughts.
They are Psalms 135:7 and 104:3.

2 thoughts on “The Wind of God

  1. This is one of my favorite poems. God has blessed you in so many ways.. I am inspired by your words of poetry, bible studies, devotions, and life. Thank you!

    Like

  2. You have such a gift of painting with you words. When I read your poetry it is so easy for me to visualize what you are saying in lovely pictures in my mind. Grandma, Mom and you were always so blessed with the ability to express yourselves so eloquently with words – poetry, thoughts, letters – I enjoy reading and rereading them all and I seem to find more there each time I go back. What treasures you are giving to us – thank you! Lots of love to you!

    Like

Leave a Reply

